Hello world!

2 Apr

Hi! My name is Ellie and I am thrilled to be sharing my stories, ideas, the occasional yummy recipe, and lots of inspiration through Yogi Ellie.

Here’s my story:

I grew up in Boston during the years when was yoga was exploding all over the city, and as a kid I’d occasionally tag along with my Mom to class (and leave halfway through to go to the bakery down the street!) I started practicing consistently at a time in my life when I felt very trapped. As a sophomore at a small college in Ohio, I was seeking more happiness, freedom, and peace in my life, so I set the intention to practice every day. At the time, I felt like I wasn’t “good enough” and wanted to improve myself. My ego brought me to the mat – the same ego that told me I had to “succeed:” to get straight A’s and be the “best” at whatever I was doing. This was my “purpose.” So I started practicing every day, no matter what.

My ego brought me to the mat, but little did it know that was where I’d learn to let it go. My daily practice has transformed me and enriched my life in so many ways. I now know that my “purpose” is to be happy. I am more patient, authentic, calm, happy, excited, open-minded, grateful, courageous and strong since I started practicing yoga. This year, I started teaching yoga classes at my school’s gym, and it feels incredibly natural to me to serve others in this way. I love sharing the practice with my classmates and helping them to relax, let go, and remember who they are. The experience of teaching has confirmed my belief that there is a real need for yoga in our society, and my experience of yoga has grown from a personal practice into a larger commitment to spread the light by teaching and writing about my journey.

Thank you for reading!

Love and Namaste,

Ellie

Leave a Reply

